News

IP Seminar: Dorothy Edgington on Credence, Chance and Conditionals, 29 Oct.

Monday 28 October 2013
Probabilities, Propensities and Conditionals Seminar Tues 29 Oct, 5.15pm Room 243, second floor, Senate House, WC1 Dorothy Edgington (Birkbeck) Credence, Chance and Conditionals Abstract: http://goo.gl/uzxiBD Series Autumn 2013: http://philosophy.sas.ac.uk/ProbabilitiesPropensititesCondidtionalsAutum... Admission Free. All welcome. . Forthcoming events of the Institute appear here: http://events.sas.ac.uk/ip/events/list End Announcement.

IP Seminar: Probabilities, Propensities and Conditionals Autumn 2013 Programme

Wednesday 23 October 2013
IP Seminar: Probabilities, Propensities and Conditionals Autumn 2013 Programme Poster Tues 29 Oct Dorothy Edgington, Birkbeck College Credence, Chance, and Conditionals Tue 26 Nov Philip Dawid, Cambridge University Individual Risk: Does it Exist? Tue 10 Dec Richard Bradley, LSE Counterfactuals and Chances Directions: http://www.london.ac.uk/fileadmin/documents/home/map.pdf Updates: http://philosophy.sas.ac.uk/ProbabilitiesPropensititesCondidtionalsAutum... Abstracts: http://goo.gl/s3zgnT

IP CenSes at the Bloomsbury Festival: Exploratorium: Exploring your Senses, Sat 19 Oct

Friday 18 October 2013
Exploratorium: Exploring your Senses Saturday 19 October, 11.00am – 1.00pm and 3.00-5.00pm Macmillan Hall, Senate House, WC1 Demonstrators: Barry Smith Sarah McCartney Charles Michel Ophelia Deroy Charles Spence Malika Auvray Vincent Hayward Colin Blakemore Science meets philosophy with these hands-on experiments exploring sensory perception. Encounter visual, auditory and touch illusions, and uncover the workings of taste and smell, guided by experts from the Centre for the Study of the Senses. Session 1: 11am-1pm. Session 2: 3-5pm. More details .

LAF Forum: Dan Hutto on Enactive Aesthetics: Philosophical Reflections on Artful Minds, Wed 16 Oct

Monday 14 October 2013
Wed 16 Oct, 4.00pm IP London Aesthetics Forum: STB8, Stewart House, basement level, WC1 Enactive Aesthetics: Philosophical Reflections on Artful Minds Dan Hutto (Hertfordshire/Wollongong) Supported by the British Society of Aesthetics Abstract: http://goo.gl/U57k27  LAF Series Autumn 2013: http://goo.gl/yVN4dG Admission Free. All welcome. . Forthcoming events of the Institute appear here: http://events.sas.ac.uk/ip/events/list End Announcement.

Heston Blumenthal to be awarded honorary doctorate

Monday 7 October 2013
The School of Advanced Study, University of London is delighted to announce that Heston Blumenthal will be awarded the degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa at its graduation ceremony on Friday 6 December 2013.

Workshop: Rethinking the Senses, 26 Oct 2013

Wednesday 2 October 2013
INSTITUTE OF PHILOSOPHY CENTRE FOR THE STUDY OF THE SENSES RETHINKING THE SENSES Sat 26 October 2013 Senate Room, Senate House, University of London http://philosophy.sas.ac.uk/RethinkingTheSenses26Oct2013

IP LEM: Logic, Epistemology & Metaphysics Forum Autumn 2013 Programme

Tuesday 1 October 2013
LEM Logic, Epistemology & Metaphysics Forum Autumn 2013 Programme Tue 22 Oct Yuri Cath (University of East Anglia) Title: Revisionary intellectualism and Gettier Abstract Tue 5 Nov Susanne Bobzien (All Souls College, Oxford) Title: The revenge of the heap and how to avoid it Abstract Tue 19 Nov Brian Rabern (University of Edinburgh) Title: In defense of Tarski on variables Abstract Tue 3 Dec Anthony Booth (University of Sussex) Title: Why is belief involuntary? Abstract

Lunchtime Seminar: Garry Hagberg on Wittgenstein’s Blue Book, Meaning, and Music, 3 Oct, 12.30pm

Tuesday 24 September 2013
Thurs 3 Oct, 12.30pm IP Lunchtime Seminar: Court Room, first floor, Senate House, WC1 Wittgenstein’s Blue Book, Meaning, and Music Garry Hagberg (Bard College) Abstract: http://events.sas.ac.uk/ip/events/view/15069/IP+Lunchtime+Seminar%3A+Wit... In conjunction with the London Aesthetic Forum Admission Free. All welcome. . Forthcoming events of the Institute appear here: http://events.sas.ac.uk/ip/events/list End Announcement.

Pages